1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Honoring Congress Members Who Voted in 2002 Against the Iraq War

Names of the 23 Senators and 133 House Members Who Voted Nay


Updated December 02, 2005
As the US suffers from the ill-conceived, poorly planned, directionless War in Iraq that has killed over 2,100 US solidiers and wounded 17,000 more, is bankrupting our country, and has ruined our country's reputation around the world.... it's time we recognize and honor the members of Congress who voted in 2002 to prevent the Bush Administration's hasty rush to attack and occupy Iraq.

The dramatic, much-debated vote on Joint Resolution 114 was taken on October 11, 2002. It passed the Senate by a vote of 77 to 23 and the House of Representatives by a vote of 296 to 133. In the end, 156 members of Congress had enough information and personal wisdom to make the correct decision for our nation and the world community.

These discerning leaders should be reelected in 2006 and beyond. Their courage and foresight are exactly what our country needs to lead it out of its present abyss in Iraq.

In the US Senate, the 21 Democrats, one Republican and one Independent who courageously voted their consciences against it were:

Daniel Akaka (D-HI); Jeff Bingaman (D-NM;) Barbara Boxer (D-CA); Robert Byrd (D-WV); Lincoln Chafee (R-RI); Kent Conrad (D-ND); Jon Corzine (D-NJ;) Mark Dayton (D-MN); Dick Durbin (D-IL); Russ Feingold (D-WI); Bob Graham (D-FL); Daniel Inouye (D-HI); Jim Jeffords (I-VT); Ted Kennedy (D-MA); Patrick Leahy (D-VT); Carl Levin (D-MI); Barbara Mikulski (D-MD; Patty Murray (D-WA); Jack Reed (D-RI); Paul Sarbanes (D-MD); Debbie Stabenow (D-MI); the late Paul Wellstone (D-MN); Ron Wyden (D-OR).

The 126 House Democrats who voted against the unprovoked use of force against Iraq were joined by 6 Republican Congressmen and one Independent member of the House:

Neil Abercrombie (D-Hawaii);Tom Allen (D-Maine).

Joe Baca (D-California}; Brian Baird (D-Washington DC); John Baldacci (D-Maine) now Governor of Maine; Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin); Gresham Barrett (R-South Carolina); Xavier Becerra (D-California); Earl Blumenauer (D-Oregon); David Bonior (D-Michigan) retired from office; Robert Brady (D-Pennsylvania); Corinne Brown (D-Florida); Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio).

Lois Capps (D-California); Michael Capuano (D-Massachusetts); Benjamin Cardin (D-Maryland); Julia Carson (D-Indiana); William Clay, Jr. (D-Missouri); Eva Clayton (D-North Carolina) retired from office; James Clyburn (D-South Carolina); Gary Condit (D-California) retired from office; John Conyers, Jr. (D-Michigan); Jerry Costello (D-Illinois); William Coyne (D-Pennsylvania) retired from office;Elijah Cummings (D-Maryland).

Susan Davis (D-California); Danny Davis (D-Illinois); Peter DeFazio (D-Oregon); Diana DeGette (D-Colorado); Bill Delahunt (D-Massachusetts); Rosa DeLauro (D-Connecticut); John Dingell (D-Michigan); Lloyd Doggett (D-Texas); Mike Doyle (D-Pennsylvania); John Duncan, Jr. (R-Tennessee).

Anna Eshoo (D-California); Lane Evans (D-Illinois); Sam Farr (D-California); Chaka Fattah (D-Pennsylvania); Bob Filner (D-California) Barney Frank (D-Massachusetts); Charles Gonzalez (D-Texas);Luis Gutierrez (D-Illinois).

Alice Hastings (D-Florida); Earl Hilliard (D-Alabama) retired from office; Maurice Hinchey (D-New York); Ruben Hinojosa (D-Texas); Rush Holt (D-New Jersey); Mike Honda (D-California); Darlene Hooley (D-Oregon); John Hostettler (R-Indiana); Amo Houghton (R-New York) retired from office; Jay Inslee, (D-Washington).

  1. About.com
  2. News & Issues
  3. Liberal Politics
  4. Democratic Party
  5. Iraq War Vote in 2002: Honoring the 23 Senators and 133 House Members Who Voted Nay

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.