1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

U.S. Senate Democratic Leadership, 2011 to 2012

Senate Majority Leaders for 112th Congress


U.S. Senate Democratic Leadership, 2011 to 2012

Photo of Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid: Alex Wong/Getty Images

Updated October 20, 2011
On November 16, 2010, Senate Democratic Majority Leader Harry Reid announced the Senate Democratic leadership team for the 112th Congress, which will serve from January 2011 through December 2012.

(Also read U.S. Senate Committee Chairs in the 112th Congress.)

In the 112th Congress, Sen. Harry Reid of Nevada will serve his fourth consecutive two-year term as Senate Democratic Leader, his third as Senate Majority Leader. For more about this soft-spoken leader, see Profile of U.S. Senator Harry Reid of Nevada.

The remainder of Senate Democratic leadership for 2011 through 2012 will be:

  • President Pro Tempore, Sen. Daniel Inouye of Hawaii
    "As President pro tempore, Senator Inouye will continue to provide the Democratic Caucus leadership and experience gained from a lifetime of public service."

  • Assistant Majority Leader, Sen. Dick Durbin of Illinois
    "s Assistant Majority Leader, Senator Durbin will continue to serve as the Majority Leader’s key aide on and off the floor, helping to lead the Democrats’ fight to protect America and help working families get ahead."

  • Conference Vice Chairman, Policy Committee Chairman, Sen. Charles E. Schumer of New York
    "The third-ranking member of the Democratic leadership, Senator Schumer will continue to oversee strategy and policy to keep and build support for Democratic values. He will also coordinate messaging for the caucus and help integrate legislative- and message-crafting function into a central, coordinated entity that encompasses policy, media and politics."

  • Senatorial Campaign Committee Chairman, Conference Secretary, Sen. Patty Murray of Washington
    "As Secretary of the Conference, Senator Murray will continue to play a critical role in helping shape and set the Democratic agenda while working with Senators Reid and Durbin to move that agenda through the Senate floor."

  • Policy Committee Vice Chairman, Sen. Debbie Stabenow of Michigan
    "Senator Stabenow will continue to help guide the Senate Democratic caucus’ messaging and strategy efforts."

  • Steering and Outreach Committee Chair, Sen. Mark Begich of Alaska
    "Senator Begich will serve as Chair of the Steering and Outreach Committee. In his role as chair, Senator Begich will engage Democratic Senators and community leaders across the country in an active dialogue about the pressing issues facing our nation."
SOURCE - U.S. Senate Democratic website
  1. About.com
  2. News & Issues
  3. Liberal Politics
  4. Democratic Party
  5. Senate Democratic Leadership for 112th Congress, 2011-2012

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.