1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Senate Committee on the Environment & Public Works for 2007-08

Subcommittee Chairs & Areas of Authority


Updated November 29, 2006
On November 16, 2006, Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA), incoming Chair of the Senate Committee on the Environment & Public Works announced subcommittee chairs for the 110th Congress, which is in session from January 2007 to December 2008.

Subcommittee Chairs and areas of authority and responsibility are:

Public Sector Solutions to Global Warming, Childrens' Health Protections, Nuclear Safety & Oversight

Chair - Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA)

Jurisdiction: global warming, childrens' health protection, Nuclear Regulatory commission (NRC), National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) and governmental oversight

Transportation and Infrastructure

Chair - Senator Max Baucus (D-MT)

Jurisdiction - transportation, Federal Highway Administration, public buildings, Water Resources Development ACT (WRDA), federal disaster relief programs, historic preservation, national dam safety programs, Mississippi River Commission, green buildings

Superfund and Environmental Health

Chair - Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-NY)

Jurisdiction - Superfund and brownfields, Toxic Substance Control Act (TSCA), environmental justice, Resources Conservation & Recovery Act (RCRA), Emergency Planning & Community Right to Know (EPCRA), federal facilities and interstate waste, Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPs), risk assessment

Clean Air, Nuclear Power Security, Community Development

Chair - Senator Tom Carper (D-DE)

Jurisdiction - Clean Air Act, indoor air, Tennessee Valley Authority, Economic Development Administration, nuclear plant security

Private Sector & Consumer Solutions to Global Warming and Wildlife Protection

Chair - Senator Joe Lieberman (D-CT)

Jurisdiction - global warming, Endangered Species Act ESA), fisheries and wildlife, national wildlife refuges

Transportation Safety,Infrastructure Security, Water Quality

Chair - Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)

Jurisdiction - drinking water, chemical and wastewater safety, Clean Water Act, Safe Drinking Water Act, Coastal Zone Management Act, invasive species, transportation safety, outer continental shelf lands

  1. About.com
  2. News & Issues
  3. Liberal Politics
  4. Environment
  5. US Senate Committee on the Environment & Public Works for the 110th Congress, 2007-08

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.