1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2010 U.S. Senate Election Results - The Winners and Losers

Results: Democrats 53 seats, Republicans 47 seats


Democrats maintained control of the U.S. Senate in the 2010 elections for the third consecutive Congressional session.

In the 112th Congress, which takes office in January 2011, Democrats will occupy 53 seats and Republicans will hold 47 seats. Republicans gained and Democrats lost six Senate seats in the November 2010 elections, in Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, North Dakota, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin.

Alabama 2010 U.S. Senate Race

Incumbent: Republican Richard Shelby, four terms
Running for reelection

RESULTS: As anticipated in red-state Alabama, incumbent Republican Sen. Richard Shelby easily reelection to a fifth term in the U.S. Senate over Democrat William Barnes, an attorney and former U.S. Army psychologist.

Alaska 2010 U.S. Senate Race

Incumbent: Republican Lisa Murkowski, one complete term, plus two years
Running for reelection

Opponents: On November 17, two weeks after the 2010 elections, incumbent Sen. Lisa Murkowski was declared the victor of Alaska's U.S. Senate race.

Murkowski, running as an Independent write-in candidate won over Republican party nominee Joe Miller, who was strongly supported by the Tea Party Movement and Sarah Palin. Moderate Republican Sen. Murkowski lost her bid for the Republican nomination to conservative Joe Miller.

Miller is a West Point graduate who won a Bronze Star for combat in the First Gulf War. He graduated from Yale Law School in 1995, and was a U.S. Magistrate Judge.

Independent Sen. Murkowski will caucus with Senate Republicans.

Arizona 2010 U.S. Senate Race

Incumbent: Republican John McCain, four terms
Running for reelection

Opponents: By moving right politically, incumbent Republican Sen. John McCain cruised to easy victory in his bid for a fifth six-year term in the U.S. Senate over 32-year-old Democrat Rodney Glassman, former Tucson vice-mayor and City Council member. Glassman has also worked as part of Democratic Rep. Raúl Grijalva's Congressional staff.

Arizona last elected a Democrat to the U.S. Senate two decades ago.

Arkansas 2010 U.S. Senate Race

Incumbent: Democrat Blanche Lincoln, two terms
Running for reelection

RESULTS: As expected, five-term Republican Rep. John Boozman, a former local school board member, prevailed over two-term incumbent Democrat Blanche Lincoln, to become U.S. senator from Arkansas.

Centrist pro-business Sen. Blanche Lincoln narrowly won the party nomination for the Senate seat she held for twelve years. After a Democratic run-off race, Lincoln eventually won over progressive liberal Lt. Gov. Bill Halter.

California 2010 U.S. Senate Race

Incumbent: Democrat Barbara Boxer, three terms
Running for reelection

RESULTS: After a feisty, no-holds-barred campaign, incumbent Democrat Sen. Barbara Boxer defeated Republican neophyte Carly Fiorina, former Hewlett-Packard CEO for six years before being fired in 2005.

Republican Fiorina, who served as campaign advisor to the 2008 Republican presidential candidate John McCain, failed to attract a substantial portion of the state's Latino vote. She was also vilified for taking $100 million in compensation for laying off 30,000 employees while Hewlett-Packard CEO.

Democrat Boxer will be serving her fourth six-year term as U.S. senator from blue-state California.

Colorado 2010 U.S. Senate Race

Incumbent: Democrat Michael Bennet, appointed to one-year partial term
Running for election

RESULTS: Incumbent Democratic Sen. Michael Bennet very narrowly defeated Republican Ken Buck, Weld County District Attorney, who was supported by the Tea Party movement, and, per ultra-conservative FreedomWorks PAC, opposed "all encroachments on individual freedom, including Obamacare... "

Bennet, an investment banker, is a moderate Democrat who has been a reliable vote for the Obama agenda.

Connecticut 2010 U.S. Senate Race

Incumbent: Democrat Christopher Dodd, five terms
On January 6, 2010, Sen. Dodd announced that he will not seek reelection.

RESULTS: Democrat Richard Blumenthal, State Attorney General since 1991, defeated Republican Linda McMahon, controversial former CEO of World Wrestling Entertainment, to become blue-state Connecticut's U.S. senator, replacing five-term Democrat Sen. Chris Dodd.

Sen. Robert Menendez, Democratic Senatorial Campaign Chair, said about Republican Lina McMahon "Connecticut Republicans today nominated a corporate CEO of WWE, who under her watch violence was peddled to kids, steroid abuse was rampant... "

Democrat Blumenthal won despite campaign-trail revelation that he "misstated" his military service in Vietnam.

Delaware 2010 U.S. Senate Race Special Election

Incumbent: Democrat Ted Kaufman, appointed to replace Joe Biden, now Vice President
Not running for election

RESULTS: Democrat Chris Coons, Executive of New Castle County (since 2005) which represents about 65% of Delaware's population, easily won over Tea Party extremist Christine O'Donnell.

McDonnell shocked pundits by beating nine-term moderate Republican Rep. Mike Castle.

Per the Washington Post about Democrat Coons "Coons presided over a fiscal crisis that required deep budget cuts - an ordeal that could bolster his appeal with independent voters."

See Profile of Christopher Coons, Delaware U.S. Senate Candidate.

Florida 2010 U.S. Senate Race

Incumbent: Republican George LaMieux appointed to to succeed Sen. Mel Martinez who resigned.
Not running for election

RESULTS: Republican Marco Rubio, former Florida House Speaker, won over Independent Charlie Crist and Democrat Rep. Kendrick Meek to become U.S. senator from Florida.

Rubio was firmly supported by the Tea Party movement. Rubio's strength as a conservative candidate forced Gov. Crist to leave the Republican party in order to become a viable senatorial candidate. Democrat Meek trailed far behind both Rubio and Crist in balloting.

Georgia 2010 U.S. Senate Race

Incumbent: Republican Johnny Isakson, one term
Running for reelection

RESULTS: Incumbent Republican Sen. Johnny Isakson won reelection for a second term from red-state Georgia over Democrat Michael Thurmond, three-term state Commissioner of Labor since 1998.

In 1986, Democrat Thurmond became the first African-American elected to the Georgia General Assembly from his county of residence since the U.S. Reconstruction period from 1865–1877.

Isakson garnered 58% of the vote in his 2004 bid for Senate election.

  1. About.com
  2. News & Issues
  3. Liberal Politics
  4. Campaigns & Voting
  5. Senate 2010 Election Results - Winners and Losers - 2010 Senate Election Results

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.