1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2010 Governors' Races Results - The Winners and Losers


Results of the 36 finalized 2010 gubernatorial races were that Republicans won 23 governor seats, Democrats won Democrat won 12 seats, and one Independent... former one-term Sen. Lincoln Chafee.. won over both Democratic and Republican candidates to become Rhode Island governor.

    Democrats gained and Republicans lost governor seats in:
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Hawaii
  • Vermont
    Republicans gained and Democrats lost seats in:
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • New Mexico
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Tennessee
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

The Minnesota race remains uncalled as of November 8, 2010.

1. Alabama 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Republican Bob Riley
Ineligible for reelection

RESULTS - In red-state Alabama's gubernatorial race, Republican Robert Bentley, a retired physician and member of Alabama State House of Representatives since 2002, defeated Democrat Ron Sparks, state Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries since 2003.

Like several other 2010 political candidates, Bentley had been accused of exaggerating his Vietnam military service.

The final tally was 58% for Republican Bentley, 42% for Democrat Sparks.

2. Alaska 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Republican Sean Parnell appointed on July 26, 2009 following Gov. Sarah Palin's resignation
Running for reelection

RESULTS - Incumbent Republican Gov. Sean Parnell easily won Alaska's 2010 gubernatorial election against Democrat Ethan Berkowitz, minority leader of the Alaska House of Representatives from 1999 to 2006.

Per local press, Democrat Berkowitz had boasted that he's "not beholden to anybody, not Sarah Palin, not Barack Obama, not anybody," adding "Sean Parnell... (is) not tough enough and he's not real leadership material."

The final vote tally was 59% for Republican Parnell and 38% for Democrat Berkowitz.

3. Arizona 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Republican Jan Brewer
Running for reelection

RESULTS - Due largely to her signing into law in April 2010 of Arizona's controversial new immigration restrictions, Republican incumbent Gov. Jan Brewer scored an easy victory in her bid for the state's Republican gubernatorial nomination.

In November, incumbent Republican Gov. Brewer defeated Democrat Terry Goddard, current state Attorney General since 2003. Goddard, a Navy veteran, was mayor of Phoenix, Arizona from 1983 to 1990.

The final electoral tally was 55% for Republican Brewer and 42% for Democrat Goddard.

4. Arkansas 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Democrat Mike Beebe
Running for reelection

RESULTS - In November, incumbent centrist Democrat Gov. Mike Beebe, running for a second term as Arkansas governor, defeated Republican Jim Keet, who was a member of the Arkansas legislature from 1989 to 1990 and again from 1993 to 1996.

Before his election in 2006 as Arkansas governor, Beebe served as state Attorney Governor from 2003 and in the Arkansas Senate for 20 years.

The final vote tally was 65% for Democrat Beebe and 37% for Republican Keet.

5. California 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Republican Arnold Schwarzenegger
Ineligible for reelection

RESULTS - Democrat Jerry Brown, state Attorney General and governor from 1975-1983, defeated Republican Meg Whitman, a political neophyte who earned billions as CEO of eBay.

Whitman lavished about $160 million of her personal fortune on her campaign, mostly for slick TV ads. For more, see Meg Whitman's Plan to Buy California Governorship Is Faltering for more on this race.

Also see Profile of Jerry Brown, California Governor Candidate.

California's final vote tally was 54% for Democrat Brown and 41% for Republican Whitman.

6. Colorado 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Democrat Bill Ritter
Not running for reelection

RESULTS - Democrat John Hickenlooper, Denver mayor since 2003, easily defeated his two conservative opponents, Tea Party Republican Dan Maes, a self-made businessman, and ultra-conservative Independent former Rep. Tom Tancredo.

The final electoral tally was 51% for Democrat Hickenlooper, 37% for Independent Tancredo, and only 11% for Republican Maes. Had the Republican candidate not achieved at least 10% of the gubernatorial vote, the Republican party would have been decertified as a major party in Colorado.

Mr. Maes campaigned on some odd, very conservative positions including opposition to a local, fully-funded bike-sharing progam.

7. Connecticut 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Republican M. Jodi Rell
Not running for reelection

RESULTS - Democrat Dan Malloy, former mayor of Stamford for 14 years, narrowly defeated Republican Tom Foley in the state's 2010 gubernatorial race.

The final ballot box count was 50% for Democrat Malloy, 49% for Republican Foley.

Foley had aimed to become blue-state Connecticut's first Republican governor since 1991.

8. Florida 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Independent Charlie Crist
Not running for reelection

RESULTS - Republican Rick Scott, a venture capitalist and political neophyte who earned his fortune as a health care industry executive at Columbia/HCA, narrowly defeated Democrat Alex Sink, the state's current CFO.

Before election as state CFO, Democrat Alex Sink worked 25 years in banking and business.

The final tally in Florida's close 2010 gubernatorial race was 49% for Republican Scott and 48% for Democrat Sink.

9. Georgia 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Republican Sonny Perdue
Ineligible for reelection

RESULTS - Republican Nathan Deal, former nine-term member of Congress, defeated Democrat Roy Barnes, who previously served as governor from 1999 to 2003. Barnes also served in the Georgia legislature from 1975 to 1998.

Republican Deal, who was elected to Congress in 1992 as a Democrat, famously introduced legislation to repeal the 14th amendment, to eliminate birthright citizenship.

Red-state Georgia's final tally in the 2010 gubernatorial election was 53% for Democrat Deal, 43% for Republican Barnes, and 4% for Libertarian John Monds.

10. Hawaii 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Republican Linda Lingle
Ineligible for reelection

RESULTS - Democrat Neil Abercrombie prevailed over Republican James "Duke" Aiona, state Lieutenant Governor, in Hawaii's 2010 gubernatorial race.

Former Rep. Abercrombie represented Hawaii in the U.S. House for ten terms, from 1991 to 2010. Abercrombie ran on a comprehensive plan calling for Hawaiians:

  • To invest in education and rebuild our economy
  • To sustain our Hawaii for future generations
  • To restore public confidence

The final vote count was 58% for Democrat Abercrombie and 41% for Republican Aiona.

  1. About.com
  2. News & Issues
  3. Liberal Politics
  4. Campaigns & Voting
  5. 2010 Governors' Races Results - The Winners and Losers - Results of 2010 Governors' Races

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.