1. News & Issues
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

2010 Governors' Races Results - The Winners and Losers


31. South Dakota 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Republican Mike Rounds
Ineligible for reelection

RESULTS- As expected in red-state South Dakota, Republican Dennis Daugaard, state lieutenant governor since 2003, defeated Democrat Scott Heidepriem, a state legislator. Both men were born and raised in small South Dakota towns, and are attorneys.

The final tally was 62% for Republican Daugaard, 38% for Democrat Heidepriem.

Republican Daugaard, who was a state legislator from 1996-2003, ran on a detailed platform that includes economic and energy development. Daugaard states that "clean, renewable energy... should be a major priority for South Dakota."

32. Tennessee 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Democrat Phil Bredesen
Ineligible for reelection

RESULTS - Republican Bill Haslam, the popular mayor of Knoxville since 2003, easily won over Democrat Mike McWherter, an attorney and respected Tennessee banker who had never before held political office.

The final vote count was 65% for Republican Haslam, 33% for Democrat McWherter.

Bill Haslam was reelected as Knoxville mayor with a remarkable 87% of the vote. Before 2003, Haslam worked in a large family business, including thirteen years as president. Haslam boasts of his "pro-life, pro-traditional marriage" stances.

33. Texas 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Republican Rick Perry
Running for reelection

RESULTS - Incumbent Republican Gov. Rick Perry defeated Democrat Bill White, former mayor of Houston and Deputy Secretary of Energy in the Clinton administration.

The final ballot count was 55% for Republican Perry, 42% for Democrat White.

Supported by the Tea Party movement, ultra-conservative Republican incumbent Gov Rick Perry prevailed over moderate U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchinson in the state's 2010 Republican gubernatorial primary. Sen. Hutchinson had been endorsed by a litany of Republican leaders including President George H.W. Bush and Vice President Dick Cheney.

34. Utah 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent : Republican Gary R. Herbert
Running for reelection

RESULTS - As expected in red-state Utah, incumbent Republican Gov. Herbert soundly defeated Democrat Peter Carroon, Salt Lake City mayor since 2005. Carroon is a first-cousin of former Democratic National Committee chair Howard Dean, former governor of Vermont.

The final vote count was 64% for Republican Herbert, 32% for Democrat Carron.

Republican Gary Herbert first ascended to the Utah governorship on August 11, 2009 when then-Gov. Jon Huntsman accepted President Obama's offer to the U.S. Ambassador to China. Previously, Herbert had served as state Lieutenant Governor since 2005.

35. Vermont 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent : Republican Jim Douglas
Not running for reelection

RESULTS - By a slim margin, Democrat Peter Shumlin prevailed over Republican Brian Dubie, state lieutenant governor since 2003. Dubie is an American Airlines pilot and a highly decorated member of the U.S. Air Force Reserve.

The final margin of victory was 50% for Democrat Shumlin versus 48% for Republican Dubie.

Governor-elect Peter Shumlin was a Vermont Senate member from 1992 to 2002, and again from 2006 to now, where he serves as President Pro Tempore.

36. Wisconsin 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Democrat Jim Doyle
Not running for reelection

RESULTS - Republican Scott Walker, Milwaukee County Executive since 2002, defeated Democrat Tom Barrett, Milwaukee mayor since 2004, in a hard-fought race between two long-time Milwaukee residents.

The final vote tally was 52% for Republican Walker, 47% for Democrat Barrett.

Republican Scott Walker was a member of the Wisconsin legislature from 1993 to 2002. Democrat Tom Barrett served in the U.S. House from 1993 to 2003, and in the Wisconsin legislature from 1984 to 2003.

37. Wyoming 2010 Governor's Race

Incumbent: Democrat Dave Freudenthal
Ineligible for reelection

RESULTS - In deeply red=state Wyoming, Republican Matthew Mead, U.S. Attorney in Wyoming from 2001 to 2007, defeated Leslie Petersen, state Democratic Party Chair, by a wide margin.

The final ballot count was 72% for Republican Mead, 25% for Democrat Petersen.

  1. About.com
  2. News & Issues
  3. Liberal Politics
  4. Campaigns & Voting
  5. 2010 Governors' Races Results - The Winners and Losers - Results of 2010 Governors' Races

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.